The NaNo Navigator- NaNo Prep

For today’s “Writer’s Journey,” I decided to talk about NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month. I want to start a sort of series within a series where I log my progress and try to offer support during the challenge to anyone who needs it.

NaNoWriMo is a type of competition against yourself, where the participants try and write 50,000 words from scratch in one month. It’s possible, and there is a daily word goal for the writers. Participants keep track of their word counts and log them on the website, winning digital badges along the way. Anyone who can reach the 50,000 words is declared a winner.

October is one of the months of NaNo prep, where the participants make their accounts and begin to plan for their novel. It can be used to brainstorm, do some character profiling work, or plot. Anything prep related really, and it really helps to have some semblance of a plan. November 1st is when the actual writing of the novel begins.

This year I am trying to step outside of my genre and do something a bit more light-hearted (I say ‘light-hearted’ and yet it still gets dark). I am working on the notes for a novel that is almost superhero-esque, and plays with the idea of an overly villainized villain.

Comment  your idea below, and let’s try and get a conversation going!

Author: thelibraryllama

I am a writer who dedicates herself to urban fantasy and cotemporary gothic novels and short stories, and I have several projects in the works. I adore Gothic literature, and my favorite poems are "The Highwayman" by Alfred Noyes, and "Prometheus" by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. I also love the non-gothic poem "I Feel As Lit By Fire" by Michelangelo. Currently, my favorite authors are Holly Black, Neil Gaiman, and Rick Riordan.

Leave a Reply

