Totally Should’ve Book Tag

totally should've logo.png

Today I’m doing the Totally Should’ve book tag. It was created by the Youtube channel emmabooks, but I first found it on the Youtube channel ProblemsofaBookNerd, and then the website readerreyna. Well, without further ado, here we go. Please enjoy!

  • Totally should’ve gotten a sequel

 

    On one hand, I want to say Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. On the other hand, I am really satisfied with the ending. Mostly, I just want some Crowley-Aziraphale backstory on the Agreement. One more full-length novel should suffice. 🙂

  • Totally should’ve had a spin-off series

 

    The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. Give me my Ziri-Liraz spin off right now! I deserve it! They deserve it! It’s been left so wide open, damn it!

  • An author who totally should’ve written more books

 

    Emily Brontë, of course. She only wrote a single novel, Wuthering Heights. Can you imagine what would happen if this genius had written more books? Or Erin Morgenstern. The Night Circus was a beautiful book. What if she had kept on writing in the gorgeous style?

  • A character who totally should’ve ended up with someone else

 

    I am going to take a deep breath and pray to my fictional gods that I will not be attacked for saying this, as the Mortal Instruments and the Infernal Devices fandoms are a bit intense. I also want it to be clear that I have not finished the Mortal Instruments and have refused to watch Shadowhunters until I do finish it. I have also not read The Bane Chronicles. I have ferociously avoided all spoilers, save for one kind of big one, and I would like to keep it that way. That being said, I don’t think anyone can really disagree with this anyway, but here it goes. While it did happen eventually, I just wish that Magnus Bane and Camille Belcourt had never met. Their entire relationship made me so uncomfortable, and they just didn’t work for me, and when they finally did move on to other people, it was such a literal weight off of my shoulders.

  • Totally should’ve ended differently

 

    Allegiant by Veronica Roth. There, I said it. Am I furious with the ending itself? No. Am I enraged that it happened with literally no warning, other than a sudden extra POV character? Did I guess that it would happen? Did I guess jokingly? Absolutely, on all three accounts.

  • Totally should’ve had a movie franchise

 

I would say the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy again, but I am so terrified that the movie will be screwed up as badly as, say, the Percy Jackson movies were, that I don’t think I can handle seeing them as movies. My other answer, though, is Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. I’m admitting right now that, in the unlikely event that Good Omens becomes a movie, I will be an anxious mess until it comes out, and then probably harshly judge the final product while savoring whatever it is anyway, deep down inside of me.

  • Totally should’ve had a TV show

 

    The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Don’t tell me that you don’t want a nice long, fantastical drama drawn out between Marco and Celia. And I need Chandresh and Tsukiko on TV so badly. You don’t even understand! They have some fantastic quotes that I can imagine being spoken, but it isn’t the same as actually hearing them. I will only accept this TV series with a perfect plot line that follows the book, and a perfect cast, though. Someone get on it. Let’s go!

  • Totally should’ve had one point of view

 

For this question, every one says Allegiant by Veronica Roth, and I have to say, I honestly didn’t mind Four’s POV as much as a lot of other people seem to. I don’t really have an answer for this question.

  • Totally should’ve had a cover change

 

    Okay. I’m going to be honest. I don’t know if they are the original covers or not, but I can’t stand the Night World series covers by L. J. Smith (the ones with the images of one of the female characters on each one, in very subdued black, white, and gray tones). Let me just say that I don’t think they’re ugly, but they definitely don’t appeal to appeal to me. I think that there are just so many better concepts that could’ve been done, and while I admit that chosen covers do their job, I also need to say that they aren’t my favorites to look at.

  • Totally should’ve kept the original cover(s)

 

    I don’t really get super passionate about original corners. There were some that I loved, but I’ve never had a book or series that I’ve enjoyed be given horrible new edition covers. I’ll update you if that changes, as it probably will, at some point.

  • Totally should’ve stopped at book one

 

    Okay, I don’t think I have an answer for this one. I’ve been pretty happy with most of the series that I’ve read, and the ones that fell flat got much better AFTER the first book. This could change in the future. I’ll make you aware of any updates.

Alright, it’s done. There is my Totally Should’ve book tag, and I hope that you’ve enjoyed. Feel free to share some of your thoughts in the comments.

For this tag, I shall select my friend Michelle to carry it on!

Author: thelibraryllama

I am a writer who dedicates herself to urban fantasy and cotemporary gothic novels and short stories, and I have several projects in the works. I adore Gothic literature, and my favorite poems are "The Highwayman" by Alfred Noyes, and "Prometheus" by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. I also love the non-gothic poem "I Feel As Lit By Fire" by Michelangelo. Currently, my favorite authors are Holly Black, Neil Gaiman, and Rick Riordan.

Leave a Reply

