Book to Movie Wish List Tag

I saw this tag on this blog and I decided that it would be a fun way to kick off my own blog. All a person needs to do is pick five books that they want to see made into movies, and then say why. It seemed simple enough, so I figured, “why not?”

I’m going to write this list as a countdown to my number one choice. Enjoy!

  1. Eon by Alison Goodman

Eon is the first part of a duology about the Chinese zodiac, and contains some beautiful visual imagery that I think deserves to grace the big screen. It also contains some important LGBTQ+ characters, who don’t all bend under the same, boring tropes.

  1. Shade’s Children by Garth Nix

This is a novel that reminded me a lot of Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, and the creatures that walk its pages are some of the most creative that I’ve ever read. I would like to see them brought to life (yes, that pun was intended) with the technology available to movie producers now.

  1. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

Here is a vampire novel that is written as a plague narrative, in world where vampirism is treated as a disease that is worse than fatal. The setting for a large portion of the book is a “Coldtown,” where the people who are “infected” with vampirism are sent to live. From the outside, Coldtown looks like one big party, but from the inside, it is more like a prison. I want to see Coldtown created in a way that matches my vision of it, though I know that if it ever does become a movie, I might wind up disappointed.

  1. The Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

The Hidden Oracle deserves its own movie, an opinion that I can say hands down. The characters are all fabulous, and I am infinitely curious as to who would be casted to play Apollo and Meg, as well as all of the others (particularly Nero). I will say that the other Percy Jackson movies have been a massive let down, though, and I don’t know if we’re all better off never seeing a movie for any of the other books.

And the one that you’ve all been waiting for… number one…

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

This book is one of the most hilarious takes on the apocalypse that I have ever read (and let me tell you, I’ve read a lot). The prose is well-written and entertaining to read, and I need to see some of the already fantastic scenes as a movie, or maybe a television show, too (so long as it isn’t fabricated with extra scenes to make it last longer). I need the answer the question: WHO WILL PLAY CROWLEY AND AZIRAPHALE?! and I need to see the entire journey in action with the perfect cast. And, of course, hear Tchaikovsky’s Another Bites the Dust for myself.

I’m going to tag my pal Michelle to do this tag next.

And there we have it. My dream Book to Movie Wishlist. Let’s see if we can get some of these in works in the next few years, eh?

Author: thelibraryllama

I am a writer who dedicates herself to urban fantasy and cotemporary gothic novels and short stories, and I have several projects in the works. I adore Gothic literature, and my favorite poems are "The Highwayman" by Alfred Noyes, and "Prometheus" by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. I also love the non-gothic poem "I Feel As Lit By Fire" by Michelangelo. Currently, my favorite authors are Holly Black, Neil Gaiman, and Rick Riordan.

Leave a Reply

